Garmin - General Discussion - Part 3

Discussions on Garmin Streetpilot, Nuvi, Zumo, Quest & other series.

Moderator: Moderators

Locked
Message
Author
User avatar
cruiser
Elite
Elite
Posts: 2823
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2007 6:43 pm
GPS: SGS Mp4 5.0, S2+S3, S4; TT GO 910+950; Nüvi® 3790 SG/MY, 1490Tv, 775T & 650.
Location: Haagse Duinen
Contact:

Re: Garmin - General Discussion - Part 3

#61 Post by cruiser » Wed Jun 04, 2008 8:07 am

tks wrote:Hello: Thanks you to mention the suggestion and the information with the GARMIN contacting about you, we will transmit for you for the related department refer, if will have any news, we will announce it in the GARMIN Chinese website. If will have in the future can serve the place for you, also asks you to relate again with us, thanks! The above showing, refers for you like has any question, invites you and we relates, thanks Best regards, Jill Wu Marketing Dept, GARMIN Corp. Tel: (02)2642-9199 Fax:(02)2642-9099 Add: Taibei County Banqiao Xizhi camphor tree two groups 68 2008/06/03


:mrgreen: That is simply translated, to my opinion, as expressing their appreciation for whichever suggestion you had raised with them and the rest is all bla, blah rhetoric, standard notification.

I think, if being there, perform the Jack show, take Ms Jill Wu out for a date, she'll express better and in English... for all you know!!! \:D/ :thumbsup:



_________________
Buy/Invest/Sell Real Estate ~ PayPal Calculator
Image ~ Driving Range added << Black Mountain Golf & Realty >> Animation – Interested? Contact at this >> Email.
>> WiKi Smart move or >> WiKi Basics or >> WiKi on PDA + BT >>SpeedTest HERE<< Nuvi Tutorial ~ I use GlareStomper® Shades >> SGP highlights & I'm also HERE, when not in this Forum
:tracking: Recent caption
I do not claim copyright on the images (when it's not mine) displayed. The image(s) are only added to accentuate &/or amuse my posts.

User avatar
tks
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 710
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 6:01 pm
GPS: iPhone 5, Nuvi 1250
Location: East Coast, Singapore
Contact:

Re: Garmin - General Discussion - Part 3

#62 Post by tks » Wed Jun 04, 2008 6:59 pm

Is it true that the newer Nuvi 200 and 700 series do not show POIs in navigation mode, unlike the older 300 and 600 series, as well as the Nuvi 200w -Taiwan version (as reported by JBNEWGUY)? This question has vexed many people. Today, I had the opportunity to test two Nuvis. First a Nuvi 200W US model. Second a Nuvi 200. Box says Singapore/Malaysia/Indonesia model but at the start screen, it shows Nuvi 200 (Indonesia). Both were loaded with the same version of malsingmaps. Both put to Bras Basah area (simulation mode) and both set to go to Bras Basah complex. The results are shown below. We went there with the intention of buying the 200w but ended up with the 200. You decide for yourself.
Attachments
04062008095.jpg
04062008095.jpg (41.29 KiB) Viewed 3451 times
04062008096.jpg
04062008096.jpg (42.63 KiB) Viewed 3446 times
04062008099.jpg
04062008099.jpg (33.58 KiB) Viewed 3440 times

User avatar
tks
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 710
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 6:01 pm
GPS: iPhone 5, Nuvi 1250
Location: East Coast, Singapore
Contact:

Re: Garmin - General Discussion - Part 3

#63 Post by tks » Wed Jun 04, 2008 7:09 pm

I also made other observations:

- US version of Nuvi 200 does not show POIs in navigation mode
- Nuvi 200 (Indon) appears to have only 512MB ROM while Nuvi 200 (US) should have 1.5 GB
- Nuvi 200 (Indon) has no pre-installed map (not counting malsing map) while 200 (US) has preinstalled US map
- Nuvi 200W does not show more of the roads as compared to 200. It just stretches the view sideways

What I heard:

- Nuvi 200 (Indon) cannot update firmware - said by shop and other users
- Nuvi 200 (Indon) has autozoom while Nuvi 200w has no autozoom - said by shop
- Nuvi 200 (Indon) is like the old 300 series

User avatar
najikhin86
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 7:06 pm
GPS: Nokia Navigator 6110 (PATI stole it),
Garmin 200W (just bought it)
Location: 73430 Aalen, Deutschland
Contact:

Re: Garmin - General Discussion - Part 3

#64 Post by najikhin86 » Wed Jun 04, 2008 7:17 pm

tks wrote:Is it true that the newer Nuvi 200 and 700 series do not show POIs in navigation mode, unlike the older 300 and 600 series, as well as the Nuvi 200w -Taiwan version (as reported by JBNEWGUY)? This question has vexed many people. Today, I had the opportunity to test two Nuvis. First a Nuvi 200W US model. Second a Nuvi 200. Box says Singapore/Malaysia/Indonesia model but at the start screen, it shows Nuvi 200 (Indonesia). Both were loaded with the same version of malsingmaps. Both put to Bras Basah area (simulation mode) and both set to go to Bras Basah complex. The results are shown below. We went there with the intention of buying the 200w but ended up with the 200. You decide for yourself.
arrr... say it isnt so... i think its cool to have 200W because the screen much much much wider..but thru your observation i have to think twice whether to buy 200W.. any other user who have similar observation or opinions base on this problem???
i am going to buy a 200W here in germany..dunno if europe version can have similar problem..

JBNEWGUY_2005
Regular
Regular
Posts: 120
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 9:15 pm
GPS: Nuvi 765 SgMy
Location: Johor Bahru
Contact:

Re: Garmin - General Discussion - Part 3

#65 Post by JBNEWGUY_2005 » Wed Jun 04, 2008 8:34 pm

tks wrote:Is it true that the newer Nuvi 200 and 700 series do not show POIs in navigation mode, unlike the older 300 and 600 series, as well as the Nuvi 200w -Taiwan version (as reported by JBNEWGUY)? This question has vexed many people. Today, I had the opportunity to test two Nuvis. First a Nuvi 200W US model. Second a Nuvi 200. Box says Singapore/Malaysia/Indonesia model but at the start screen, it shows Nuvi 200 (Indonesia). Both were loaded with the same version of malsingmaps. Both put to Bras Basah area (simulation mode) and both set to go to Bras Basah complex. The results are shown below. We went there with the intention of buying the 200w but ended up with the 200. You decide for yourself.
hi tks,
Just attach the my nuvi 200w taiwan version picture to compare with your picture :D
Can you see any different ? :wink:
Attachments
500.JPG
500.JPG (32.16 KiB) Viewed 3387 times

User avatar
tks
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 710
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 6:01 pm
GPS: iPhone 5, Nuvi 1250
Location: East Coast, Singapore
Contact:

Re: Garmin - General Discussion - Part 3

#66 Post by tks » Wed Jun 04, 2008 8:55 pm

Very difficult to scroll up/down to compare. So I attach all 3 pics one after another. I think 200 (Indon) view is same or similar to 200W (Taiwan) but 200W (US) is quite different. Those with different models of Nuvi should try to set their units in simulation mode to go to Bras Basah Complex and see what they get. By the way, how did you get your screen shot?
Attachments
Nuvi200Indon.jpg
Nuvi 200 (Indonesia)
Nuvi200Indon.jpg (42.63 KiB) Viewed 3354 times
Nuvi200wTaiwan.jpg
Nuvi 200W (Taiwan)
Nuvi200wTaiwan.jpg (32.16 KiB) Viewed 3350 times
Nuvi200wUS.jpg
Nuvi 200W (US)
Nuvi200wUS.jpg (41.29 KiB) Viewed 3346 times

User avatar
chlesoh
Regular
Regular
Posts: 151
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 1:15 pm
GPS: eTrex 30, Nuvi 200, Holux M-241
Location: KL
Contact:

Re: Garmin - General Discussion - Part 3

#67 Post by chlesoh » Wed Jun 04, 2008 9:12 pm

tks wrote:I also made other observations:

- US version of Nuvi 200 does not show POIs in navigation mode
- Nuvi 200 (Indon) appears to have only 512MB ROM while Nuvi 200 (US) should have 1.5 GB
- Nuvi 200 (Indon) has no pre-installed map (not counting malsing map) while 200 (US) has preinstalled US map
- Nuvi 200W does not show more of the roads as compared to 200. It just stretches the view sideways

What I heard:

- Nuvi 200 (Indon) cannot update firmware - said by shop and other users
- Nuvi 200 (Indon) has autozoom while Nuvi 200w has no autozoom - said by shop
- Nuvi 200 (Indon) is like the old 300 series
I have a Nuvi 200 (indon) with a software version of 3.60.

What I observed so far is that the POIs will appear on the screen (while in the navigating mode with a set destination) is when the map scale is 80M or below.

The screen will zoom in to that scale whenever it's a short trip with numerous turns or when it's near to the destination.

However, on a straightaway especially on the highway with the next turn which is a few KMs away, the screen map scale is always 200M. Then all the POIs will disappear.

The abov pic that were posted are in "Ready to Navigate" mode, ie no destination has been set yet. If I were to drive with no destination set, then most of the times the POIs will appear as it's in the 50M scale (sometimes dunno why it'll be at 120M-scale).

As for the software update, I've e-mailed to garmin.com before but it was forwarded to taiwan garmin, and taiwan side has replied that as it's an Asian version, it can't be updated using the WebUpdate and I need to contact the Malaysia's dealer Starlite to update the software.

I did call them up and the dealer admitted that the latest software version is 4.00 but it's a beta version which he's not sure whether there's any bugs for that software yet. So it's not recommended to install it.

JBNEWGUY_2005
Regular
Regular
Posts: 120
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 9:15 pm
GPS: Nuvi 765 SgMy
Location: Johor Bahru
Contact:

Re: Garmin - General Discussion - Part 3

#68 Post by JBNEWGUY_2005 » Wed Jun 04, 2008 9:29 pm

tks wrote:Very difficult to scroll up/down to compare. So I attach all 3 pics one after another. I think 200 (Indon) view is same or similar to 200W (Taiwan) but 200W (US) is quite different. Those with different models of Nuvi should try to set their units in simulation mode to go to Bras Basah Complex and see what they get. By the way, how did you get your screen shot?
Hi bro tks, it's no need to take Camera to capture the picture. In Nuvi 200w, Setting> Display >Screen shot> Enabled , then you have the Screen shot function to capture the picture. It's simple. :D

User avatar
tks
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 710
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 6:01 pm
GPS: iPhone 5, Nuvi 1250
Location: East Coast, Singapore
Contact:

Re: Garmin - General Discussion - Part 3

#69 Post by tks » Wed Jun 04, 2008 9:37 pm

Comments on chlesoh's comments:

1. The unit I had had software version 3.90.

2. By the time I took the picture, the destination may have been reached. But I can confirm that I saw the POIs in navigation mode with a set destination (Bras Basah Complex). That's why I took the picture. In fact, for the 200W, it's the same. I took the picture when destination reached. Not sure why in 200, the flag disappeared. Noticed that this is the same even for JBNEWGUY's pic.

3. The views are 3D views. No indication of 80m or other zoom level. I forgot to try 2D views to see what happens. Confirm that I tried only short routes. Did not try long routes.

I guess need more testing to get a clearer picture.

JBNEWGUY_2005
Regular
Regular
Posts: 120
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 9:15 pm
GPS: Nuvi 765 SgMy
Location: Johor Bahru
Contact:

Re: Garmin - General Discussion - Part 3

#70 Post by JBNEWGUY_2005 » Wed Jun 04, 2008 9:43 pm

tks wrote:Comments on chlesoh's comments:

2. By the time I took the picture, the destination may have been reached. But I can confirm that I saw the POIs in navigation mode with a set destination (Bras Basah Complex). That's why I took the picture. In fact, for the 200W, it's the same. I took the picture when destination reached. Not sure why in 200, the flag disappeared. Noticed that this is the same even for JBNEWGUY's pic.
I use the "SET LOC" function. :D

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests