The Nuvi 660

Discussions on Garmin Streetpilot, Nuvi, Zumo, Quest & other series.

Moderator: Moderators

Locked
Message
Author
User avatar
AxeLa
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 850
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 7:42 pm
GPS: Omnia HD + GMXT with 10x / Agis NavFone /Nuvi 765 /nRoute with 10X / Di~GPS on D700!
Location: Eastern Singapore
Contact:

The Nuvi 660

#1 Post by AxeLa » Fri Aug 10, 2007 8:24 pm

Welcome all Nuvi 660 user and FAQ..... \:D/
Last edited by AxeLa on Wed Aug 15, 2007 10:27 am, edited 1 time in total.
Omnia HD with GMXT & Garmin 10X / Agis NavFone /
Nuvi 765

dominique
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 10:26 pm
GPS: Garmin IQUE3600, NUVI 650
Location: North East of Singapore
Contact:

Re: Nuvi 660 fall-in!

#2 Post by dominique » Fri Aug 10, 2007 10:31 pm

sinifm wrote:getting my nuvi660 next week from amazon :)
How much are you paying for your Nuvi 660?

Regards.

User avatar
AxeLa
Veteran
Veteran
Posts: 850
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 7:42 pm
GPS: Omnia HD + GMXT with 10x / Agis NavFone /Nuvi 765 /nRoute with 10X / Di~GPS on D700!
Location: Eastern Singapore
Contact:

Re: Nuvi 660 fall-in!

#3 Post by AxeLa » Fri Aug 10, 2007 10:49 pm

SG latest is $1090 without maps... \:D/
Omnia HD with GMXT & Garmin 10X / Agis NavFone /
Nuvi 765

User avatar
jovially
Regular
Regular
Posts: 172
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 10:36 am
GPS: Garmin Nuvi 765
Contact:

Re: Nuvi 660 fall-in!

#4 Post by jovially » Sat Aug 11, 2007 3:58 pm

maptaineer wrote:And....me too.. Mine is a T version without the FM Transmitter, Europe map and of course Malsing, malsing and malsing \:D/

luv the 660, its one cool piece of gadget!
How to know I'm having a T version?
For FM Transmitter, any icon and be seen in the unit?
I thought all 660 came with FM transmitter build-in and only cannot use in singapore

User avatar
jovially
Regular
Regular
Posts: 172
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 10:36 am
GPS: Garmin Nuvi 765
Contact:

Re: Nuvi 660 fall-in!

#5 Post by jovially » Sat Aug 11, 2007 4:07 pm

Redstorm wrote:
jovially wrote: How to know I'm having a T version?
For FM Transmitter, any icon and be seen in the unit?
I thought all 660 came with FM transmitter build-in and only cannot use in singapore
My thoughts too. I don't think u can see any icon unless the FM transmitter is working.
Oh, I'm referring to the icon in the unit just like "Bluethooth" icon etc.
I know when I pair my unit with my handphone or connect the unit to the car charger, I will see the phone icon and a diamond icon.

Vice
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 10:31 pm
GPS: Nuvi 660
Contact:

Re: Nuvi 660 fall-in!

#6 Post by Vice » Sun Aug 12, 2007 1:00 am

Me too....a Nuvi 660 user....one of the best gadget I've ever bought.
:thumbsup: =D>

Got to know this while browsing Malsingmaps.com....a great free site......
But now, the latest maps are locked...I guess nothing is so called "free" in this world. Now need to work for it already... :cry:
At the moment working hard to find faults with the "Old" maps to feedback so that can be a "Contributor" :lol:

One thing I don't understand...since that newbie can only use old unlock maps...Without evaluating the latest maps, how do we know that whatever we feedback is already updated in the latest maps? I would believed that it make more sense to use the latest maps and then give feedbacks on it so that it can be updated/improved for the next release.

User avatar
jovially
Regular
Regular
Posts: 172
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2007 10:36 am
GPS: Garmin Nuvi 765
Contact:

Re: Nuvi 660 fall-in!

#7 Post by jovially » Sun Aug 12, 2007 11:46 am

Recently encounter slow in detecting the signal when I turn on my 660, anyone any advise?

User avatar
Redstorm
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
Posts: 2738
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 8:37 pm
GPS: Montana 650, Nuvi 2465, 3790 & 3560LM
Location: Hougang, Sg
Contact:

Re: Nuvi 660 fall-in!

#8 Post by Redstorm » Sun Aug 12, 2007 11:56 am

There is no standard time taken for a GPSr to lock onto the satelite signal. It depends on factors like the weather, the surrounding - blocked by buildings, trees, etc., Like mine, sometimes it can lock on very fast - under a minute - and sometimes it takes a few minutes to do so. Nothing wrong with it.
Olight M20 R2
Jetbeam RRT 1, RRT 2
Fenix TK10, TK11 R2, TK12 R5, PD30, L1D, L2D, LD01, P2D
Romisen RC-W4, RC-N3
Ultrafire WF-606A, C3, A20, A10
MTE C3, C2-1
Surefire 6P

trajet2b
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Posts: 949
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2005 12:00 am
GPS: 60CSx, 10X, Nuvi3597LMT, Kenwood DNX9170S
Location: SG
Contact:

Re: Nuvi 660 fall-in!

#9 Post by trajet2b » Sun Aug 12, 2007 12:00 pm

bro jovially, depending various reasons (such as tinted car sceen, signal get blocked in tall building areas, hot or cold start up...etc, this is quite normal. Unless you always get this problem everytime, even on a clear day and when you are in the open, then you should worry.

musicexpression
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 10:51 am
GPS: nuvi 650
Contact:

Re: Nuvi 660 fall-in!

#10 Post by musicexpression » Sun Aug 12, 2007 12:07 pm

actually, i would think the SiRF3 chipsets are real fast and powerful. there was once i used the GPS on some place, then turned it off (who uses the GPS everyday when travelling well-known routes like home<>work?). my car is parked in the open, when powering up the GPS, even the unit not placed on the dash and hand-held, it's able to acquire a 3D fix within a short time, well-before the sun-beaten heated-up cabin is cooled down. :thumbsup:

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests