SLA Garmin map v Malsingmap

Discussions on Garmin maps by other parties, commercial or otherwise.

Moderator: Moderators

Lostboy48
GPS: Garmin NUVI 670

SLA Garmin map v Malsingmap

#1 Post by Lostboy48 » Fri May 21, 2010 1:40 pm

I am a newbie and I succeeded to download the Malsingmap for my used Garmin that I bought. However, I see that Eastgear offers a SLA Garmin map.
I would like to know if anyone here has the SLA Garmin maps in their Garmin GPS systems and would recommend it over the MalSingMaps. I understand the search function of using postal codes is avail in the SLA maps. But apart from that is there any other advantages like the quality of the graphics etc?

Redstorm
MSM Global Moderator
MSM Global Moderator
GPS: Montana 650, Nuvi 2465, 3790 & 3560LM

Re: SLA Garmin map v Malsingmap

#2 Post by Redstorm » Fri May 21, 2010 1:48 pm

Lostboy48 wrote:I am a newbie and I succeeded to download the Malsingmap for my used Garmin that I bought. However, I see that Eastgear offers a SLA Garmin map.
I would like to know if anyone here has the SLA Garmin maps in their Garmin GPS systems and would recommend it over the MalSingMaps. I understand the search function of using postal codes is avail in the SLA maps. But apart from that is there any other advantages like the quality of the graphics etc?
AFAIK, the SLA map is not a standalone map. On its own, it can't work on your device. It is like an overlay with postal codes and addresses and need to be used with another map.
Olight M20 R2
Jetbeam RRT 1, RRT 2
Fenix TK10, TK11 R2, TK12 R5, PD30, L1D, L2D, LD01, P2D
Romisen RC-W4, RC-N3
Ultrafire WF-606A, C3, A20, A10
MTE C3, C2-1
Surefire 6P

Lostboy48
GPS: Garmin NUVI 670

#3 Post by Lostboy48 » Fri May 21, 2010 2:10 pm

Redstorm wrote:
AFAIK, the SLA map is not a standalone map. On its own, it can't work on your device. It is like an overlay with postal codes and addresses and need to be used with another map.
Oh its not a standalone? They are charging $59.